By continuing to use this website, you consent to our use of cookies and our Terms and Conditions.

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the guardian of the School’s mission and philosophy. It is organized on a non-stock, directorship basis under the Michigan Non-Profit Corporation Act.
Articles of Incorporation and corporate bylaws describe and guide board operations. The members of the Board of Trustees elect officers to govern the management of the board. Board responsibilities include hiring and evaluation of the Head of School, approving the annual budget, and strategic planning. The board oversees the governance of the school and is careful not to impinge upon the day to day operational roles of the school’s administrators. It acts as a support to, and resource, for the Head of School and administration.

List of 2 items.

  • Officers 2021-2022

    Clay Thomas, Chair 
    General Counsel, JB Donaldson Company 

    David Feldman, Ex-Officio
    Head of The Roeper School

    Linda Ban, Treasurer, Vice Chair- Finance 
    Strategist, Banstone Consulting 

    Shannon Martin, Secretary
    Roeper Parent

    Alana Glass '97, Vice Chair, Administration
    Community Foundation for Southeast Michigan  
    Director, Project Play: Southeast Michigan 

    Colleen Allen, Member at Large 
    President & CEO of Autism Alliance of Michigan 
  • Trustees 2021-2022

    Carol Appel 
    Oncology Nurse Practitioner 
    Cheryl Blau, Alumni Representative, Class of '80
    Founder, Director and Teacher 
    The Blau Project Middle School 
    Kevin Carlson, Parent Representative
    Civil Rights Attorney
    Dr. Steven Grekin 
    Dermatologist & Lecturer 
    Laura Karmanos 
    Alumni Parent, The Roeper School  
    Joy Lawson Davis, Ed.D.
    DEI and Gifted Education Consultant
    Herman Marable, Jr., Class of '80 
    68th District Judge 
    Jay Marks
    Diversity & Equity Consultant 
    Oakland Schools 
    Ruby McKeeverStudent Representative, Class of '23
    Student, The Roeper School

    Kenny Miller 
    Director, Benefits and Rewards Operations
    General Motors

    Susannah Nichols, Staff Representative 
    Middle/Upper School Faculty, The Roeper School 

    Jameel M. Smith, Ph.D., LLP, NCSP 
    Lead Pediatric Psychologist
    Wayne Pediatrics

    Signe Smith, Student Representative, Class of '23 
    Scott Vartanian, Staff Representative 
    Lower School Faculty, The Roeper School 
    Beth Vens
    Senior Environmental Quality Analyst

    Doug Winkworth, Honorary Trustee 
    Owner, Festivities Studio 

Begin Your Journey at Roeper

An independent Preschool through Grade 12 school for gifted students.
© Copyright 2021 The Roeper School | All Rights Reserved.