An independent Preschool through Grade 12 school for gifted students.
About

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is the guardian of the School’s mission and philosophy. It is organized on a non-stock, directorship basis under the Michigan Non-Profit Corporation Act.
Articles of Incorporation and corporate bylaws describe and guide board operations. The members of the Board of Trustees elect officers to govern the management of the board. Board responsibilities include hiring and evaluation of the Head of School, approving the annual budget, and strategic planning. The board oversees the governance of the school and is careful not to impinge upon the day to day operational roles of the school’s administrators. It acts as a support to, and resource, for the Head of School and administration.

List of 2 items.

  • Officers

    Ashley Lowe, Chair 
    Chief Executive Officer, Lakeshore Legal Aid
    alowe@shaya.us

    David Feldman, Ex-Officio
    Head of The Roeper School
    david.feldman@roeper.org

    Clay Thomas, Board Chair - Designate, Treasurer 
    Real Estate Attorney, JB Donaldson Co.
    cthomas@me.com

    Linda Ban, Secretary 
    Global C-Suite Study Director, IBM Institute for Business Value
    lbb@banstone.com

    Shannon Martin, Vice-Chair Finance
    Roeper Parent
    shannonmartin148@gmail.com

    Alana Glass '97, Vice Chair, Administration
    Western Michigan University Cooley Law School, Career and Professional Development Coordinator, Adjunct Professor
    alanaglass@gmail.com

    Anessa Kramer, Member-at-Large
    Partner and Co-Managing Partner Oakland County
    Honigman Miller Schwartz and Cohn, LLP
    akramer@honigman.com
  • Trustees

    Colleen Allen 
    President & CEO of Autism Alliance of Michigan
    colleen.allen@aomi.org
     
    Francis Allen ‘21, Student Representative 
    Student, The Roeper School
    francis.allen@roeper.org
     
    Cheryl Blau ‘80, Alumni Representative
    Experiential Learning Community, Teacher and Founder
    cbblau@gmail.com
     
    Kevin Carlson Parent Representative,
    Civil Rights Attorney
    kcarlson@pittlawpc.com
     
    Dr. Steven Grekin 
    Dermatologist & Lecturer 
    sg222@aol.com
     
    Laura Karmanos 
    Parent, The Roeper School  
    lpkarmanos@comcast.net
     
    Joy Lawson Davis, Ed.D.
    DEI and Gifted Education Consultant
    profjoy1022@gmail.com
     
    Herman Marable, Jr. '80 
    68th District Judge 
    hmarable@cityofflint.com
     
    Jay Marks 
    Educational Consultant, School Quality Department, 
    Oakland Schools 
    jaybmarks@yahoo.com
     
    Ruby McKeever ’23 Student Representative
    Student, The Roeper School
    ruby.mckeever@roeper.org

    Kenny Miller, Parent Representative 
    Director, Benefits and Rewards Operations at General Motors
    kenny.miller@gm.com

    Susannah Nichols, Staff Representative 
    Middle/Upper School Faculty, The Roeper School 
    susannah.nichols@roeper.org
      
    Scott Vartanian, Staff Representative 
    Lower School Faculty, The Roeper School 
    scott.vartanian@roeper.org
     
    Beth Vens
    Senior Environmental Quality Analyst
    schmidly6@hotmail.com

    Doug Winkworth, Honorary Trustee 
    Owner, Festivities Studio 
    dougwinky@gmail.com
BLOOMFIELD CAMPUS
Lower School and Administrative Offices
41190 Woodward Ave
Bloomfield Hills MI 48304

PHONE 248 203 7300
BIRMINGHAM CAMPUS
Middle School and Upper School
1051 Oakland Avenue
Birmingham MI 48009

PHONE 248 203 7300