An independent Preschool through Grade 12 school for gifted students.

Rae Anne (Noyes) Dotter ’81 Receives 2018 Colorado Sanford Teacher Award

Juliette Olejnik
Rae Anne (Noyes) Dotter ’81 was recently awarded the National University System-Sanford Teacher Award. The Award is based on criteria of inspiring teaching, which includes: Enthusiasm for teaching; empathy and warmth towards all students; fostering positive relationships with all students; creating a positive learning environment; and recognizing student strengths.

Rae Anne entered the teaching profession through the “Troops to Teachers” program in 2006 following a 20 year Air Force career as a KC/EC-135 Instructor and Evaluator Pilot which included a tour as Assistant Professor of Chemistry at the Air Force Academy.

For the last 12 years, Rae Anne has been teaching Science at Cotopaxi School, a small, rural school located in south central Colorado where most students live at a level of poverty. This circumstance has not stopped her from reaching her students and opening their minds to new opportunities. Each day, she finds ways to go beyond basic instruction to make science relevant and engaging. No matter what she teaches, she finds a way to make real world applications that inspire her students as well as other teachers.

“Above all, teaching is a way for me to serve others and have a positive influence on our future. In my 12 short years of teaching at our rural, Title I school, my passion has been creating a learning environment in which all students can discover their talents, strive to reach their fullest potential, dream big, and gain the necessary skills to pursue those dreams. I have drawn upon my background as a pilot and combat veteran to inspire my students to 'reach for the stars.'” 

Rae Anne shared news of her award along with a note that said, “Roeper's spirit has always guided me throughout my life. This recognition is a tribute to our beloved school and community.” 

51 teachers around the country – representing each state and the District of Columbia – have been named recipients of the first-ever National University System-Sanford Teacher Award. The teachers each receive $10,000 for demonstrating their commitment to creating inspirational and harmonious classrooms that support student development and achievement.
Lower School and Administrative Offices
41190 Woodward Ave
Bloomfield Hills MI 48304

PHONE 248 203 7300
Middle School and Upper School
1051 Oakland Avenue
Birmingham MI 48009

PHONE 248 203 7300